Academic Profile : Faculty

cchongan_1_2.JPG picture
Assoc Prof Chen Chung-An
Associate Professor, School of Social Sciences
Chung-An earned his Ph.D. in Public Administration from the University of Georgia in 2009. He started his academic career at NTU since 2010. He currently serves, or has served, on the editorial board for several journals such as Asia Pacific Journal of Public Administration, International Journal of Public Administration, Public Administration, and Public Personnel Management. In 2017 and 2018, two of his papers won the Best Journal Article Award in the Chinese Public Administration Review and Public Personnel Management respectively.
Chung-An is interested in a variety of public management issues. His publications in the last 5 years center on motivation theories, such as motivation crowding, SDT, etc. His recent research focuses on the behavior of Chinese public employees. He studies how the Chinese are motivated to pursue a public service career, how they climb up within government bureaucracy, and how they succeed (and fail) at the workplace. He explores several traditional Chinese concepts in a public sector context.
  • Building Socially-beneficial and Vibrant Social Enterprises in Singapore and Beyond
2019 Best Journal Article Award of the Year, Public Personnel Management (PPM), American Society for Public Administration

2018 Marc Holzer Best Journal Article Award of the Year, Chinese Public Administration Review (CPAR), American Society for Public Administration

2015 Best Conference Paper Award, International Conference on Public Administration (ICPA) annual conference
Fellowships & Other Recognition
2022 Certificate of Honor: Koh Boon Hwee Scholars Mentorship
Courses Taught
HA1003 Introduction to Public Administration & Policy
HA2014 Public Organization Theory
HA2027 Statistical Analysis for Public Affairs II
HA3001 Political Analysis in Public Policy
HA4011 Public Administration: Past, Present, and Future
HA7002 Theories of Public Administration
Supervision of PhD Students
2013-2018. Xu, Chengwei
2018-2022. Mussagulova, Assel
2022-present. Zhou, Qinrou
2022-present. Ong, Yi Ning
2023-present. Xing, Yibing