Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item:
Title: 2009 competitiveness rankings of ASEAN-10 and 79 Asian economies.
Authors: Ho, Yew Kuan.
Huang, Huiying.
Wong, Andy Jing Hon.
Keywords: DRNTU::Business::International business::International competition
Issue Date: 2010
Abstract: The Association of Southeast Asian Nations or ASEAN was established on 8th August 1967 in Bangkok, Thailand with the signing of the ASEAN Declaration by the Founding Fathers of ASEAN, namely Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand. In 8th January 1984, Brunei joined ASEAN as its 6th member. This was followed by Vietnam on 28th July 1985, Lao PDR and Myanmar on 23rd July 1997, and finally, Cambodia on 30th April 1999. Eventually, these ten countries make up what we call the ASEAN-10 today. In our study, the methodology that we used closely mirrors the approach used by the World Competitiveness Yearbook. This methodology is used in measuring the competitiveness of the ASEAN-10 economies and also the 79 Asian Economies which includes the Greater China and India. Under the competitiveness for the 79 Asian Economies, the Greater China and India are studied at a more disaggregated level, breaking-down the China economy to a provincial level and the India economy to its states. This can give us a more comprehensive picture of the competitiveness level in the region given the sheer size and diversity of the two emerging powerhouses in the world economy.
Rights: Nanyang Technological University
Fulltext Permission: restricted
Fulltext Availability: With Fulltext
Appears in Collections:NBS Student Reports (FYP/IA/PA/PI)

Files in This Item:
File Description SizeFormat 
  Restricted Access
3.21 MBAdobe PDFView/Open

Page view(s)

Updated on Nov 23, 2020


Updated on Nov 23, 2020

Google ScholarTM


Items in DR-NTU are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.